News & Media

65 years of service in Munro

  • Darren Chester Federal Member for Gippsland, Brigade Captain Craig Moralee, Minister for Police and Emergency Services Kim Wells
  • 1st Lt. Esther Dekkers, Captain Craig Moralee, Life Member recipients Fred Lotton, Pat Dowd, Geoff Bates, Secretary Trevor Field

By: Emily Haala

Category: Events / Fundraising / Offers

  1.10 PM 2 December, 2013

Location: District 10 News

Views: 2132

The Munro community came together on Sunday 24 November 2013 to celebrate CFA Sunday, to pay tribute to members of the township’s fire brigade and to officially open their new fire station.  The opening of the station was a great day for the future of the brigade and allowed for recognition of the people who built this brigade into what it is today through brigade life memberships.

The Honourable Kim Wells Minister for Police and Emergency Services unveiled the memorial plaque for the new station.

The Munro brigade has been serving the community for 65 years. 

The new station replaces a 40 year old building allowing for improved meeting and training facilities which will enhance and strengthen the brigades relationship with the community as well as lifting brigade morale. It provides an improved service to the community and a facility to meet future needs of the region. 

The station was funded through CFA’s rural fire station program and provides a 2 bay motor room, hard standing car parking, toilet and meeting facilities.

Guests and members celebrated a combined total of 65 years’ service to the Munro community and CFA. 

 Awards presented were:

 35 year clasp and Brigade Life Member –           John Boyd

 30 year clasp –          Marvin Dunsmuir, Christopher Stubbs, Kevin Luxford

 50 year clasp and Brigade Life Member –       Christopher Lee, Pat Dowd

 40 year clasp –               Craig Moralee, Lloyd Moralee

 Brigade Life Members –     Geoff Bates, Fredrick Lotton, Prec Jones

Last Updated: 02 December 2013