News & Media

AFSM nominations: call for 2016 Aust Day Honours

By: Belinda Gillespie

Category: Honours & Awards

  10.59 AM 13 February, 2015

Location: General

Views: 2775

CFA is in the process of consolidating nominations for the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) for the Australia Day Honours 2016.

Nomination form: Please refer to CFA Honours & Awards Manual and via Brigades Online here

Due Date: Nominations must be received by no later than Friday 1 May 2015.

If you have any questions please contact CFA Awards Secretariat via email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by calling 1800 232 636.

AFSM Criteria:

The award

The Australian Fire Service Medal recognises distinguished service by members of Australian fire services. It's awarded to paid and volunteer members. The AFSM is awarded by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the responsible minister. For CFA and the other Victorian fire services, the responsible minister is the Minister for Police and Emergency Services. The quota each year for the combined fire services of Victoria is:

  •          one award for each 1000 (or part of 1000) full-time permanent staff;
  •          one award for each 5000 volunteer or auxiliary members; and
  •          one additional award at the discretion of the Minister.

The awards are announced on Australia Day (26 January) and the Queen’s Birthday (June) of each year. Recipients of the Australian Fire Service Medal are entitled to use the letters AFSM after their names to show that their outstanding service has been formally recognised.

Who is eligible?

All volunteers, auxiliary members and full-time staff of CFA are eligible for the medal. The Australian Fire Service Medal is not reserved for senior officers – it is open to all levels of CFA. Nominees must be current serving members of CFA when nominated. The AFSM may be awarded only once to each recipient. A person who has received an AFSM and gives further distinguished service may be nominated subsequently for an award in the Order of Australia. Similarly, a person who has received an award in the Order of Australia is not excluded from receiving an Australian Fire Service Medal although, in accordance with established honours convention, at least five years should elapse between the announcements of awards.

Posthumous awards

The Australian Fire Service Medal is not awarded posthumously.

Are nominations confidential?

All nominations are strictly confidential and the information provided will be used only to assist in considering the merits of the nomination. The person being nominated should not be approached for information or advised of his or her nomination at any stage.

What is the medal awarded for?

The sole criterion for the award of the Australian Fire Service Medal is distinguished service. “Distinguished service” includes service that is above and beyond the normal zealous and faithful discharge of normal or ordinary service, whether short term or prolonged. It could be a special achievement or success in the performance of duty in difficult or unusual circumstances, or sustained high-level performance with outcomes and recognisable benefits to CFA, the fire service in general or the community. The service must be exceptional. Long service should not be used as a basis for making nominations.

Last Updated: 13 February 2015