News & Media

Anthony & Travis Memorial Fund


Category: Community Safety, Events / Fundraising / Offers

  5.38 PM 20 September, 2013

Location: District 13 News

Views: 3014

In early January 1995, Anthony (15) and Travis Hall (13) were killed in a road accident in Cockatoo.

Both boys were enthusiastic members of the Upwey Junior Fire Brigade, with Anthony being the Junior Captain at the time of the accident.

The boys were the sons of the then senior Brigade’s 1st Lieutenant Peter Hall and wife Liz. Their loss was a shock to many as they were very popular in the community and successful in Brigade competitions throughout many areas of the State.

To perpetuate the memory of the boys in a way that is beneficial to the community and a possible model for others, the Anthony & Travis Hall Memorial Driver Education Fund was established to provide young adults of the volunteer fire service in the Dandenongs and the local community, the opportunity to participate in the Level 1 Defensive Driving Course.

The Fund is managed by prominent members of the fire service and the Dandenong Ranges community in Peter Hall, Graeme Legge, Bob Horner, Geoff Champion and Peter Marke (Convenor) in conjunction with the Upwey Brigade.  The one day courses are valued at $295 each.

The Fund received tremendous support from local Fire Brigades and residents and even people from the suburbs.  Local organisations, Tattersall’s, the Hall family and our local press have also been very supportive.

The Dandenong Ranges Community Bank® Group also donated funds to assist with advertising and administering the fund.  We have now raised over $20,000 which, with support from the Murcott’s Driving Excellence who have donated two Courses every year.

To commemorate its 18 years of operation, it has been decided to award seven courses.   Three Courses have been awarded to young members of the fire service and four to members of the local community.”

Upwey Brigade members and the Fund Management Committee are thrilled that the objective of the Fund is now being achieved for the seventeenth year.  We will continue to provide these Courses annually.  We urge Brigades and the community to consider donating to the Fund to enable even more Courses to be provided.  Accordingly, any assistance from Brigades would be appreciated.

Awards will be presented to:

  • Jayde Netherclift (Selby)
  • Belinda Hogg (Kallista
  • Tamara Gear (Upwey Brigade member)
  • Sam Hamer (Kalorama)
  • Jenny Louise Pain (Clematis Brigade member)
  • Alexia George (Cockatoo)
  • Jordan Diluzio (Olinda Brigade member) 
Last Updated: 20 September 2013