News & Media

Bunyip member has 70 years with one brigade

By: Lisa Hicks

Category: Honours & Awards

  1.35 PM 9 November, 2016

Location: District 8 News

Views: 1163

On Saturday night 22 October Bunyip Fire Brigade held its Annual Awards and Dinner night at the Bunyip Football Club Social Rooms.


Service awards were presented by Operations Manager Mark Kennedy to Josh Kasper, Anne Delosa, Luke Monckton, Tony Arrigo, Graham Gray, Shaun Hudgell, Tony Ward and Kevin Duffy.

A service award was also present to Ronald 'Joe' Cumming OA for his 70 years (yes 70 years) service to the CFA. Joe has spent the entire 70 years as a member of the Bunyip Fire Brigade including Captain for over 30 years.

Current Captain John Cooper received a National Medal and First Clasp, while Ex-Captain Kevin Duffy and 1st Lieutenant John Legione also received their First Clasp to the National Medal. Fire Fighter John Beavis received a Fourth Clasp to his National Medal, which equates to over 55 years of active and diligent operational service.

The Warwick Turner Memorial Trophy went to Alisha Maetzing while Ulrike Maetzing accepted the Phil Edwards Memorial Trophy and 2nd Lieutenant Jason Boler proudly accepted the Captains Trophy.

Last Updated: 23 March 2017