News & Media

Callawadda gets new fire station

  • Callawadda's new fire station replaces the old shed erected in 1970.
  • Callawadda brigade members and family at the official opening of the new station.

By: Darren Grevis-James

Category: Vehicles / Equipment / Buildings

  12.42 PM 14 November, 2012

Location: District 16 News

Views: 4200

The Member for Western Victoria David O’Brien MLC has officially opened the new Callawadda fire station, located north of Stawell in CFA District 16.

Built as part of the Rural Fire Stations Replacement Program, it replaces the old station which was constructed in 1970. The new station features a 2 bay Motor Room, 3 car parking spaces, toilet, and rain water harvesting facilities 

CFA Board Member, Don Robertson presented service awards to the brigade members with Group Officer Kevin Irwin receiving a forty year clasp for his service. 

Other awards included: J.D Phillips and Tom Carson presented with 50 year Clasp - HLM and retirement certificates. Rod Byron -  50 year Clasp, and WG (Scott) Fraser 45 year Clasp HLM & retirement certificate,   

Geoff Erwin and Ian Squire  received the  45 year Clasp HLM, while  Ian Taylor was awarded -  40 Year Clasp HLM and Retirement certificate

3 members were apologies and have since received their awards.  These included William (Bill) Byron and Arthur Walter - 60 year Clasp & Retirement Certificates, and Neville Morris – 50 year Clasp

Callawadda fire brigade has 54 members and attends more than five incidents annually.

Captain Stuart Reading says the new Callawadda Fire Station is a facility to meet future needs of the region and will provide improved service to the community. 

The Callawadda Rural Fire Brigade was originally part of the Glenorchy-Riachella Bush Fire Brigade and formed as a brigade in its own right in June 1956.

In more recent times, the Callawadda brigade was part of District 16 strike teams that were sent to Alexandra during the Black Saturday Fires. The brigade also responded a number of significant local fires included the Dadswells Bridge fire in 2000, the Stawell – Deep Lead fire in 2005, the Mt Lubra fire in 2006 and the Dadswells Bridge – Roses Gap Fire in 2010.

Last Updated: 26 November 2012