News & Media

Cardigan Windermere FB Awards Night

By: Samantha Plater

Category: Honours & Awards

  5.13 PM 20 May, 2013

Location: District 15 News

Views: 3406

Saturday 11th May, Cardigan Windermere Fire Brigade marked their Awards Presentation Dinner.

With Deputy Chief Officer John Haynes, Operations Officer Gavin Hope, VFBV Hans Van Hamond, Brigade Members, Families, neighbouring brigades all enjoyed a 3 course meal at the Learmonth Bowls Club.

After Entrée and Main, the formalities started with the service medals being presented by Operations Officer Gavin Hope and Brigade Captain Jim Hare. 

In total 20 awards were presented ranging from 10yrs – 50yrs.

Michelle Philips – 10yr

Jennifer Draffin – 10yr

Elizabeth Draffin – 10yr

Gary Fry – 10yr

Jeanette Fry – 10yr

Stephen Menz – 10yr

John Kearle – 10yr

Heather Kearle – 10yr

Shaun Hogan – 10yr

Jim Hare – 10yr

Christopher Draffin – 10yr

Ross Wiggins – 15yr

Judith Draffin – 20yr

David Backhouse – 20yr

Terence Hearn – 25yr

Greg Watt – 35yr

John Philips – 35yr

David Draffin – 40yr

Daryle Kopke – 45yr

Gary Lyttle – 50yr

With the main event over, everyone was unaware of two more special surprise presentations to be presented.

Deputy Chief Officer John Haynes presented a National Medal with 2 clasps to a surprised David Draffin. David had received his 40yr service medal showcasing his years of dedication to the brigade, as of the 1st July will be the first in a long time since David hasn’t been a Captain or a Lieutenant. David will remain as secretary as of 1st July.

Hans Van Hamond presented a VFBV Gold Star award to Gary Lyttle. With 50 years continuous service with Miners Rest FB, Cardigan Windermere FB, Ballarat Group and multiple roles in the VFBV.

The night finished up with some dessert.

The following members were unable to attend on the night and will receive their awards at the next brigade meeting.

Rod Bartholomew – 5yr

Mathew Hernan – 5yr

Monica Menz – 5yr

Emma Philips – 5yr

Ebony Fry – 5yr

Fiona McKenzie – 5yr

Bridget Menz – 5yr

Andrew Cheesman – 10yr

Kay Kopke – 15yr

Gavin Stabeusz – 20yr

Bronwyn Cheesman – 20yr

Heather Simpson – 25yr

George Simpson – 25yr

Alistair Ham – 30yr

Gerard Madden – 40yr

Graeme Draffin – 40yr

Ross Cheesman – 50yr

Last Updated: 20 May 2013