News & Media

CFA celebrates young Victorian volunteers

  • Minister for Youth Affairs Jenny Mikakis MP and CFA's Sherri McKerley
  • CFA's Sherri McKerley and Anne Colling
  • Maffra's Ryan Wheeler was a finalist in the 2015 Victorian Young Achiever Awards

By: CFA Media

Category: Honours & Awards, Youth & Juniors

  1.47 PM 8 September, 2015

Location: General

Views: 2860

CFA hopes to raise the profile of the state’s next generation of volunteers after signing on with the 2015 Victorian Young Achiever Awards as sponsor of the Young Volunteer Excellence Award.

Minister for Youth Affairs Jenny Mikakis MP today launched the awards which aim to acknowledge, encourage and promote the positive achievements made by young people up to and including 29 years of age.

CFA Chief Officer Euan Ferguson said many young Victorians deserve recognition for their exceptional leadership and dedication to community issues.

“Being a volunteer-based fire and emergency service, we understand the value and contribution that volunteers make to our community,” Mr Ferguson said.

“The work can be demanding not only for those in firefighting and rescue roles, but also for those performing other critical support roles, community education and engagement.

“So we’re honoured to be able to support the outstanding work of our young volunteers; the future lifeblood of not just our own organisation but also communities across the state.”

Victorian Young Achiever Awards Director Geoff Griffin said the awards recognise the amazing achievements of the young people in our communities.

“We are delighted to have CFA on board as a partnering sponsor to help us recognise the valuable contribution our young volunteers make,” Mr Griffin said.

CFA’s Young Volunteer Excellence Award aims to acknowledge young volunteers who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution and have positively impacted the lives of others and their community.

This award covers all aspects of volunteering including youth at risk, the homeless and disadvantaged, emergency services, health, aged care and not-for-profit.

Nominations are now open and close Friday, 11 December with the winners announced Friday 6 May, 2016.

Enter now:

Last Updated: 08 September 2015