News & Media

CFA members receive top honours

By: CFA Media

Category: Honours & Awards

  9.49 AM 26 January, 2017

Location: General

Views: 16086

CFA members have featured in the fire and emergency services sector of the 2017 Australia Day Honours List.

Six CFA members are recipients of the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) in recognition of their outstanding service to the community.

CFA AFSM recipients are:

CFA Chief Officer Steve Warrington congratulated the recipients for their outstanding achievements.

“I thank each of the AFSM recipients for their contribution to the emergency services sector – and making CFA and the community stronger and safer.

“I want to thank you for devoting a large part of your life to the protection of lives and property in your communities,” he said.

“All recipients have made a remarkable contribution to CFA, and it is fitting their dedication and community spirit has been recognised in the Australia Day honours list.”

In addition, seven current and former CFA members are recipients of the Medal of the Order of Australia.

They are:

  •          Alan Stafford
  •          Alexander Carmody
  •          Athol Graham
  •          Thomas Heaney
  •          Ivan Lee
  •          Neville Oddie
  •          John Robinson

“All CFA past and present members receiving awards today should be very proud of their achievements and service to the community,” Mr Warrington said. 

Last Updated: 27 January 2017