News & Media

Changes to the District 2 team

By: District 2 News

Category: People

  11.36 AM 12 February, 2016

Location: District 2 News

Views: 1893

In October 2015 CFA commenced the transition to a new region and district structure aimed at enhancing the level of support we provide to our front line people.

The restructure has resulted in a number of changes within District 2 HQ, notably the faces that will greet you at the front counter.

Iā€™m pleased to welcome District Support Officers (DSOs) Paige Mounsey, Angela Barnes, and Cathy Haeusler to the front desk, alongside long-time team member Chris Raven. The District Support team is led by District Support Coordinator (DSC) Leah Walter who will be familiar to those who have previously visied D2 HQ.

Our catchment teams have changed somewhat, with Michelle Cannon moving into a Regional BASO role and the addition of a new BASO position. This opportunity has opened to welcome Fiona Ritchie and Amie Starick back into the BASO ranks, positions which they have both previously filled within District 2.

Although these are potentially the most visible changes, I would also like to welcome the new members to our team that work at the various offices around our district providing a high level of support to ensure our brigades are best positioned to support their communities. 

I encourage all members to drop by the District HQ for a cuppa and say hello to the friendly faces at the front desk.


Catchment team changes

With the addition of a new BASO into our ranks, the opportunity arose to review our catchment structure with the aim of developing a model that provides a higher level of support to our brigades. After a facilitated workshop involving the district operations officers, BASOs and Group Officers, the following new catchment structure was adopted based on municipal boundaries.

Macedon Ranges Catchment Team ā€“ Mt Macedon group, Romsey group, Kyneton group

Operations Officer: Andy Waterson

Group Officers: Ian Hay, John Pearce, Ralph Herman

BASO: Dorothy Fowler


Mt Alexander Catchment Team ā€“ Newstead group, Maldon group, Metcalfe group

Operations Officer: Craig Brittain

Group Officers: Ron Gartside, Shane Scoble, Sean McCubbin

BASO: Jay Gardiner


Goldfields Catchment Team

Operations Officer: Bruce Quarrier (OIC Bendigo Fire Station)

Group Officer: Robert Ipsen

BASO: Sharon Moloney


City of Greater Bendigo Catchment Team

Operations Officer: Chris Jacobsen

Group Officers: David Patterson, David Cleator, Doug Strawhorn

BASOs Fiona Ritchie, Michelle Andrews, Amie Starick (Michelle and Amie 2.5 days each)

Last Updated: 23 March 2017