News & Media

Churchill Annual Dinner and Presentation Night

  • 2014 Churchill Dinner
  • 2014 Churchill Dinner
  • RD Mark Potter presenting Commendation for Service to Steve Barling
  • Firefighter of the Year Graeme Renwick
  • Churchill Life Member Recipients - Rob Langston, Bert Penco, Steve Barling, Darlene Parkinson, Tony Gallagher
  • Churchill Award Recipients

By: Steven Barling

Category: Honours & Awards, People

  4.24 PM 23 November, 2014

Location: District 9 News, District 10 News, District 11 News

Views: 2045

A large number of Churchill Fire Brigade members, Morwell Group representatives, CFA personnel and guests gathered at the Churchill Hotel to celebrate the Churchill brigade’s year of operation and to present awards.

After entrees and the main course were served it was time for the formalities. Brigade President Allan Larkin was MC for the night and welcomed everyone present.

Steve Barling, Brigade Captain, also welcomed everyone and thanked them for coming. He reported that it had been a busy year for the Churchill brigade with 162 fire calls over the last twelve months which included five structure fires and a number of wildfires, including the Hernes Oak and Driffield fires and the Hazelwood Mine fire.

Councillor Darrell White, representing Latrobe City Council, acknowledged the key role of Churchill Fire Brigade in protecting the community. “We have lots of infrastructure and assets. You have a strong interaction with other brigades and a great spirit of co-operation,” he said. Darrell also thanked all members for their willingness to undergo training and development of understanding to deal with the different sorts of fires and circumstances present in our area. He concluded by saying “Thanks for your contribution, which is vital to keeping the place safe”.

The Regional Director, Mark Potter thanked the brigade for its significant contribution especially over the last summer. He re-iterated the thanks to partners and family for support of the members. Mark then presented the CFA service awards, assisted by Operations Officer Shane Mynard.

Five Year Certificate
• F/f Ashleigh Caldwell
Fifteen Year Medal
• Lt Shane Renwick
Twenty Five Year Medal
• Secretary Darlene Parkinson
• Umberto Penco

Commendation for Service
RD Potter & OO Mynard made a surprise presentation of a Commendation for Service to Captain Steve Barling for his service and leadership during the initial hours and later days of the Black Saturday Fire at Churchill.

Brigade Life Membership
• Cpt Steve Barling
• F/f Rob Langston
• Sec Darlene Parkinson
• F/f Tony Gallagher
• Umberto Penco

Rookie of The Year
• F/f Lindon Collins

FireFighter of the Year
• Lt Graeme Renwick

Most Consistent
• F/f Chris Gallagher

Captain’s Trophy
• F/f Jack Dixon

Photos courtesy of Troy Longson - CFA Photographer

Last Updated: 23 November 2014