News & Media

Colbinabbin 2013 awards night

  • Eileen Johnson & Joyce Purvis receiving flowers from Peter Morgan and Pat Johnson.
  • Tom Morgan, Ron McTaggart & Len Purvis received their 65 year medals.
  • Bob West, Ron McTaggart and Maurice Ryan received Brigade Life Memberships
  • Eileen Johnson & Joyce Pervis receiving flowers from Peter Morgan and Pat Johnson.

By: Amie Starick

Category: Events / Fundraising / Offers, Honours & Awards

  1.09 PM 2 July, 2013

Location: District 20 News

Views: 3007

More than 100 people gathered at Colbinabbin on Friday 21 June to recognise 65 years of voluntary service from three local CFA members.

Tom Morgan, Len Purvis and Ron McTaggart each joined the Colbinabbin Fire Brigade as young men and have been actively involved in many ways ever since. 

To celebrate their exceptional achievement, and to thank the three men for their community involvement, a presentation dinner was held at Colbinabbin Hall. 

Among the special guests for the evening were The Honourable Dr Sharman Stone MP, Federal Member for Murray, and Councillor Ian Maddison, Mayor of the Shire of Campaspe. Dr Stone gave a short talk, congratulating Tom, Len and Ron on their extraordinary voluntary contribution. Dr Stone also complimented the people of Colbinabbin on their community spirit, remembering the town’s very rural response to the 2000 Olympic Torch relay, with the main street lined with green and gold tractors – and one ride-on mower.

Stuart Broad, Operations Manager for CFA District 20, presented each of the men with CFA 65-year medals, plus framed photos of the three brigade members which included their operational history.
Ron McTaggart joined the Colbinabbin brigade in September 1947 and has always been an active member. He is currently involved in the very successful Brigades in Schools program at Rushworth P12 Secondary College.

Len Purvis also enrolled in September 1947. In 1967 he was elected to the position of 3rd Lieutenant, which he held for four years, then 2nd Lieutenant also for four years. In 1975 he accepted the position of 1st Lieutenant, which he held for 18 years.

Tom Morgan enrolled in 1948.  He was elected as Captain in 1967 and held the position for 34 years. Tom was Group Officer for 33 years and Group Delegate for 34 years.  He was also a member of the Local Advisory Committee for 34 years and the Volunteer Fire Brigades Victoria for 14 years. Tom was always pushing for improvements for his brigade and the area in general.

A framed photo of Tom, Len and Ron, standing together in front of the Colbinabbin No.2 tanker, with the original hose reel used by the brigade, was on display on the night. This photo will be mounted in Colbinabbin Fire Station.

Colbinabbin Brigade Life Membership Awards were also presented on the night to Ron McTaggart, Maurice Ryan and Bob West. Captain Peter Morgan thanked each of the members for their on-going support of the brigade.

The evening was a great opportunity to thank two long-term members of the Colbinabbin Ladies Auxiliary, who have recently retired and left the area. Flowers were presented to Eileen Johnson and Joyce Pervis with grateful thanks for their efforts over the years. Captain Morgan also presented flowers to the outgoing Secretary/Treasurer, Bette Tyzzer, as thanks for 10 years of service in the role.

Last Updated: 02 July 2013