News & Media

Community Fireguard Carson Award

By: Duncan Russell

Category: Community Safety

  12.56 PM 15 April, 2013

Location: General

Views: 2422

For many years, Chris Carson was the driving force behind the development of the Community Fireguard program and was respected immensely in CFA for his commitment to and passion for the program.

By Angela Cook

He enthusiastically, proudly and successfully managed the Community Fireguard program at a state level from 2000 until 2004 and greatly supported the regional coordination of the program throughout this time.

He was the driving force behind developing competency-based facilitator training for CFA Community Fireguard facilitators and equipping them with resources to assist with the delivery of the program. He was a magnificent trainer and inspired many of CFA’s Community Fireguard facilitators to deliver the program with upmost integrity and enthusiasm.  

Chris died in 2006 from leukaemia. The loss of Chris is still felt today in the program and by those who were fortunate to know him.

An award named in his honour, the Community Fireguard Carson Award, is given to Community Fireguard groups (CFG) that exemplify the spirit of the program. It recognises the outstanding efforts of those Community Fireguard groups actively involved in the program and committed to continuing to learn, to share and engage with their group members and their community.

To be eligible to receive the Carson Award, CFGs need to meet and exceed all these criteria:

  • The group displays proactive and ongoing commitment to the Community Fireguard Program through regular maintenance meetings both on their own and with a facilitator
  • The group demonstrates support and respect for each other by actively sharing their experiences, ideas, knowledge and resources, where appropriate, to achieve a common goal.
  • The group actively engages new residents to get them involved in the program and actively promote the program in the local area
  • The group has a good relationship with CFA.

It’s important to note that it’s not intended as an individual award but a group award.

As this is the first year Carson Awards have been allocated, there are a number of groups that will receive the award − 19 to be exact.

This year’s winners of the Award

Congratulations to the following winners of the Carson Award in 2013:

CFA Region

CFG Group Name


Loddon Mallee

Lethebys Road





Emu Creek

Emu Creek


Mount Macedon

Southern Metro

Mann Road

Pakenham Upper

North West Metro

St Andrews North

St Andrews

Scotts Angle Road

Wattle Glen

Lower Cantani Blvd

Kangaroo Ground

Henley Road

Bend of Islands

Charbler Lane

St Andrews


The Royal Family


Eastern Metro

Lockes Way

Belgrave South

One Tree Hill

Ferny Creek

Mt Rael





Callignee North


Lyndon’s Road



Woodduck Drive


Barwon South West

Alice Street

Aireys Inlet


The Carson Award – a framed certificate – will be awarded to each of the above groups at the Community Fireguard 20th Birthday Event at Kalorama on Saturday 20April 2013.  


Last Updated: 16 April 2013