News & Media

Digby brigade thanks its members

By: Jess Sheahan

Category: Honours & Awards

  3.17 PM 16 June, 2015

Location: District 4 News

Views: 1964

A solid and committed effort within the brigade has earned six members medals to recognise their contribution over the years.

Digby Fire Brigade is in District 4, around 40km from the South Australian border. The brigade currently consists of 44 members with some who have lived in the area their whole lives.

This year the brigade decided to hold a volunteer recognition evening in combination with their Annual Brigade Meeting. This involved the presentation of both National and Brigade Service Medals to several dedicated members. The event was held over a beautiful dinner at the local hotel where the crowd was full of family and friends who were invited to share the celebrations of their family members receiving this great recognition of service.

Members awarded a National Medal for their enormous efforts included Edward Hiscock, Richard Burgess, Derek Dyer, and Geoff Wombwell. Combined, these members total 215 years of service to the brigade. Each of the four National Medals was presented by Acting Assistant Chief Officer Gregg Patterson and Acting Operations Manager Mark Gunning.

In addition to the presentation of National Medals, five service medals were presented to Geoffrey Botterill, Edward Hiscock, Derek Dyer, Geoff Wombwell and Brett McCallum. The event was a fantastic opportunity to come together and recognise the outstanding service members have made to brigades over the years.

Last Updated: 07 July 2015