News & Media

Elmhurst's new Ultra-Light

  • David Southwick MLA, Parliamentary Secretary for Police and Emergency Services hands the keys for the new Ultra-Light to Jonathan Keith, Captain of Elmhurst Fire Brigade.
  • Doug Boatman receives his 50-year service award from David Southwick MLA (left) and Michael Tudball AFSM
  • CFA Board Member, Michael Tudball AFSM; Deputy Group Officer Pyrenees Doug Boatman; Michael Greene; and David Southwick MLA
  • Ben Baker of Wimmera Hills Winery, Captain Jonathan Keith, David Southwick MLA, and; Bob Cooper of the Sporting Shooters’ Association celebrate the hand-over of the new Ultra Light

By: Darren Grevis-James

Category: Vehicles / Equipment / Buildings

  1.20 PM 18 June, 2013

Location: District 16 News

Views: 3233

Elmhurst fire brigade in CFA District 16; and a Pyrenees Group brigades has celebrated the offical hand over of a new ultra light appliance.

The Nissan Patrol Ultra-Light vehicle which cost just over $125,000 was acquired through the Volunteer Emergency  Services Equipment Program (VESEP) in the 2012/2013 rounds.

David Southwick MLA, Parliamentary Secretary for Police and Emergency Services officially handed over the keys to a new Ultra-Light vehicle.

The 4WD Nissan Patrol vehicle uses diesel fuel and is licensed to carry 2 passengers. It will support the brigade’s 3.4D Hino Tanker with fire fighting operations.

The brigade raised $17,539 towards the purchase of the vehicle and significant funds were also raised thanks to the generous support of local businesses and community donations. Wimmera Hills Winery and the Sporting Shooters Association were major contributors.

A dinner and celebration to mark the hand over and the presentation of medals was attended by
CFA Board Member, Michael Tudball AFSM, who thanked the brigade members for their contributions to CFA and the community.

Awards were presented to: 5 year certificates - Sarah Keith, Gerard Van Oosten, Wendy Van Oosten. 10 year medals – Benjamin Baker, Josh Greene, Claire Keith, Corey Price. 25 year medals – Benjamin Greene, Jacy Keith, Jonathan Keith, Geoff Penna. 30 year medals – Donald Milne, Tony Westerhoff, Graeme Preston. 35 year medal – John Rivett. 40 year medals – Doug Keith, Alan Peacock, David Price. 45 year medal – Bob Greene. 50 year medals – Doug Boatman, Michael Greene.

Doug Boatman, a 50 year medal recipient gave an account of the brigade detailing the communications, captaincy, secretarial and appliance history.

Elmshurst was originally formed as a bush brigade by the community and registered with CFA in August 1941.

The Current Elmhurst fire Station which was built in 1977 is currently being refurbished.

Last Updated: 18 June 2013