News & Media

Final dinner for Pakenham vols

  • Pakenham National Medal and Outstanding Service Award recipients 2013
  • Pakenahm Award recipients Annual dinner 2013

By: Phillip Craig

Category: Honours & Awards

  6.33 PM 15 December, 2013

Location: District 8 News

Views: 3390

As Pakenham is about to become an integrated station, the brigade held its last fully volunteer brigade dinner recently

With a large gathering of brigade members, their families and friends in attendance, several members were recognised for valuable service to the community and their brigade.

Special guests included Russell Broadbent MP, Federal Member for McMillan and a former brigade member, Chief Officer Euan Ferguson, and Cr Jodie Owen, Cardinia Shire. 

The evening was an opportunity to recognise significant service with  National Medals presented to Andrew Lodge and Andrew MacDonald and CFA’s Outstanding Service Award presented to 1st Lieut Phil Craig, the first time this award has been presented in District 8 under CFAs new awards system.

A number of CFA service awards were presented during the evening including some significant milestones - Bruce Wickes (65), Charles Lansdown (55), Ann Ramsdale (55) and Norman Jackson  (55). Brian Lewis (30), Andrew MacDonald (30), Brendan Lewis (30), Haydn Smethurst (30). Marlene Jones (20), Andrew Lodge (20), Julie Smethurst (20), Tanya Mitchell (15), Dave Edwards (15), Chris Fry (10), Stephen Harris (5) Cameron Lewien (5). This is a significant total 0f 460 years service to the community by the above members.

The prestigious 2013 Len Marshall FIrefighter of the Year Award was awarded to Steve Leithhead.

Last Updated: 16 December 2013