News & Media

Fire Awareness Awards now open

  • Emerald Community House: Winner RACV Award for Excellence 2014

By: CFA Media

Category: Community Safety, Events / Fundraising / Offers, People

  11.53 AM 20 July, 2015

Location: General

Views: 1840

Every year Victorians face the challenge of living with fire, whether it is the threat of bushfire, a house fire or dealing with the effects fire can have on a business or industry. 

The Fire Awareness Awards is a community-focused awards program that acknowledges the great work of individuals, community groups and organisations who deliver projects that help reduce the incidence and impact of fire in Victoria.

The awards are managed by Victoria’s fire agencies – CFA, MFB and DELWP – with the support of RACV Insurance, ABC Local Radio and Emergency Management Victoria. 

In 2014 Emerald Community House won the RACV Award for Excellence ($10,000) for the implementation of a policy that made it compulsory for all parents who used their childcare service to attend a bushfire planning workshop.

The Emerald Community House Manager Mary Farrow said entering the Fire Awareness Awards allowed them to share their simple idea with a wider audience and encourage community organisations to implement similar programs.

Entries for the 2015 Fire Awareness Awards are now open and close 30 September 2015. Recipients will be announced at a presentation evening on 2 December 2015.

Awards Categories:

  •          Access and Inclusion
  •          Community-led Prevention and Preparedness
  •          Education
  •          Fire Service Award for Local-led Prevention and Preparedness
  •          Fire Services Award for Partnership
  •          Fire Services Award for a Project of State Significance
  •          Innovation and Design
  •          Media
  •          Recovery


  •          RACV Award for excellence: $10,000
  •          Special incentive grants: $2000 (three available)

For more information about the 2015 Fire Awareness Awards or to apply, visit or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  

Last Updated: 20 July 2015