News & Media

Hampton Park celebrates

By: Lee-Anne Cronin

Category: Honours & Awards

  12.14 AM 1 July, 2013

Location: District 8 News

Views: 4249

On Saturday 29th June 2013, the Hampton Park Fire Brigade held its Annual Dinner to celebrate brigade achievements, to honour current and past members of our brigade and to thank our family and friends for their support over the past year.

The Brigade Annual Dinner was attended by CFA Board Member Paul Denham and Mrs Carmel Denham, Operations Officer Greg Christison and Mrs Emily Christison and Group Officer Shane Keen and Mrs Sharyn Keen along with Life and Honourary Members, Community Supporters and Brigade Members.

Captain Troy Smith took this opportunity to recognise and celebrate the life of Karl Wulf who recently passed away with a moving tribute and toast to honour Karl as a Life Member of our Brigade.

Operations Officer Greg Christison presented CFA Service Awards to Lieutenant Sean McGuckin (10 years), Brigade Member Sandra Marks (10 years), Firefighter Stephen Sanderson (10 years) and Brigade Member Michael Marks (15 years).  Lieutenant Graeme Wilson was presented with his 30 year service medal and CFA Life Membership.

CFA Board Member Paul Denham and Operations Officer Greg Christison presented Ex-Captain Arnaud Marion with the National Medal, Lt. Graeme Wilson with his 1st Clasp, Ex-Captain Ray Carr with his 1st Clasp, Ex-Captain Shane Keen with his 2nd Clasp and Ex-Captain Raymond Rickards with his 3rd Clasp.

Captain Troy Smith thanked our community supporters, Beryl & Ossie Medcraft from the Lions Club Melbourne Host who have had a long association with the Brigade and the Berwick Opportunity Shop for their continuing support of our Brigade.

This year, we announced the inaugural winner of the Scott Mason Memorial Rookie of the Year Award. This award was struck to honour the memory of Lieutenant Scott Mason who passed away. The BMT felt this was a fitting award to name in his honour because Scott was always involved with mentoring and training newer members.

Award Recipients

Champion Firefighter: Fabian Ruberto

Brigade Member of the Year: Fabian Ruberto

Captain's Encouragement Award: Brian Chaplin

Rookie of the Year: Bill Sharp

Milestone Calls: Brian Chaplin (500)

We look forward to celebrating the 70th Anniversary of the Hampton Park Fire Brigade in 2014.

For more information on the Hampton Park Fire Brigade, like us on facebook by clicking on the link below.

Last Updated: 02 July 2013