News & Media

Inspire awards celebrating diversity & excellence

By: CFA Partnerships and Marketing

Category: Honours & Awards, People

  12.25 PM 27 September, 2016

Location: General

Views: 1527

Do you know a volunteer who has demonstrated outstanding work in their field and who has a disability?*

If you do - nominate them for an Inspire Award. Nominations close 5 December.

The Inspire Awards® are an initiative of the Funds in Court (of the Supreme Court of Victoria) with the support of the Transport Accident Commission, Women with Disabilities Victoria and the Portland House Foundation. The awards are in their second year, are Victorian based and recognise a person 18 years or older, who identifies with a disability and who is well respected in their field of work/interest and community.

The awards are also an important opportunity to raise awareness about disability issues more broadly across the community and, ultimately, to support the development of an inclusive Australian society.

There are 10 categories:

  1.     Best Achievement Award in Law
  2.     Best Achievement Award in Human Rights
  3.     Best Achievement Award in Arts (Visual)
  4.     Best Achievement Award in Community Volunteering
  5.     Best Achievement Award in Country Fire Authority Volunteering
  6.     Best Achievement Award in Disability Advocacy
  7.     Best Achievement Award in Financial Management
  8.     Best Achievement Award in University/Teaching
  9.     Best Achievement Award for War Veterans Community Engagement and or volunteering
  10.     Best Achievement Award in Writing: Creative

Even though there is a category for Community Volunteering, the Supreme Court introduces a new category each year to recognise emergency services volunteers specifically and for 2017, they have nominated CFA.

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony in Melbourne on Thursday 20 April 2017 .

If you would like to nominate a CFA volunteer for this award, please complete the application form and submit via email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. no later than Monday 5 December 2016.

Nominations are confidential and under no circumstances should you tell the nominee they are being nominated nor should you contact them for information.

* Disability can be physical sensory, psychiatric, neurological, cognitive or intellectual.

Last Updated: 27 September 2016