News & Media

Lilydale Awards

  • Jim McKee
  • Heather Turner
  • Peter Baxter
  • Michael Garrett
  • Michael Sartori
  • Roger Haley
  • Peter Carswell (LFF Eltham)
  • Peter Morris
  • Award recipients
  • Trevor Dean
  • Vin Bigham
  • Scott Blair
  • Vince Bosua

By: Robert Bethell

Category: Honours & Awards

  11.07 AM 11 November, 2013

Location: District 13 News

Views: 3469

Lilydale Fire Brigade held their annual dinner last Saturday evening (9th November) at the Chirnside Park Country Club, joined by guests Operations Officer Ian Cross, D13 VFBV President Bill Watson, Group Officer Ken Reed and neighbouring brigade senior officers.

The evening was an opportunity for the 100 odd members and guests to mingle and chat about times past over a selection of dishes. Following the main course, Master of Ceremonies Lieutenant Steve Campbell called on Captain Warren Davis to come up to introduce Operations Officer Ian Cross who made the long service presentations to the following brigade members:

10 Year medallion to Firefighter Michael Garrett and Auxiliary member Heather Turner.
20 Year clasp to Firefighter Peter Baxter.
25 year clasp to Firefighter Trevor Dean. and Vin Bigham
30 year clasps were presented to Lieutenant Michael Sartori, Firefighters Scott Blair, Peter Morris, and Peter Carswell  (LFF Eltham).

A 35 year clasp was presented to Firefighter Roger Haley.
Firefighter Jim McKee was presented with his 50 year clasp.

Captain Davis also made special presentation to Amy Mann as appreciation for her arranging the dinner which once again went without hitch.

A special certificate was also presented to former Yarra Ranges Highway patrolman, retired Senior Constable Ron Veldman for his assistance over many years at Motor Vehicle Accidents in the brigade area.

Firefighter Vince Bosua was not able to attend the brigade dinner but accepted his 40 year medallion  from Captain Warren Davis at the brigade meeting on November 18th 2013.

Last Updated: 18 November 2013