News & Media

Medals awarded to FSCCs

  • Operations Manager Don Tomkins, FSCC Glenn Thompson, FSCC Jenny Clow, Chief Officer Steve Warrington, FSCC Andrea Brown, FSCC Craig Musselwhite and Deputy Chief Tony O'Day
  • FSCC Glenn Thompson, FSCC Jenny Clow, CO Steven Warrington, FSCC Andreá Brown and FSCC Craig Musselwhite
  • FSCC Jenny Clow, CO Steven Warrington and FSCC Andreá Brown

By: CFA Media

Category: Honours & Awards

  9.40 AM 21 November, 2016

Location: District 15 News, General

Views: 1907

Late last week (Thursday 18 November) in Ballarat, Chief Officer Steve Warrington had the honour of presenting National Emergency Medal’s and service awards to several well deserving Fire Service Communications Controllers (FSCC).

FSCCs often slip under the radar, but their dedication and service is invaluable to CFA. They work with ESTA, AV, VICPOL and SES behind the scenes at VicFire Ballarat providing operational support and leadership in the field 24/7 365 days a year.

At the ceremony Jenny Clow and Andreá Brown were presented with the National Emergency Medal which acknowledges their service the Black Saturday Bushfires.

Jenny and Andreá were also presented with CFA service awards alongside their colleagues Craig Musselwhite and Glenn Thompson.

Absent on the day were Lynne Simpson who will receive a 30 year service award, and Chris Olney who will receive a 20 year service award.

Chief Officer Steve Warrington said he was proud to present these medals to truly deserving recipients.

“Today’s ceremony is a great opportunity to acknowledge the great work that our members do, both in their day to day roles and in times of crisis,” said Mr Warrington.

“These awards recognise the dedication and hard work of our FSCCs who are often forgotten as being part of CFA frontline.”

The 4 members who received awards represent a combined 115 years of service to CFA and the community.

Awards given at the Ballarat ceremony:

FSCC Andreá Brown – National Emergency Medal and 30 year service award.

FSCC Jenny Clow – national emergency medal and 20 year service award.

FSCC Glenn Thompson – 35 year service award

FSCC Craig Musselwhite – 30 year service award

Last Updated: 23 March 2017