News & Media

Mobile black spot base station locations

  • Select data layer
  • Victoria locations

By: CFA News

Category: Community Safety, Vehicles / Equipment / Buildings

  5.50 PM 25 June, 2015

Location: General

Views: 3133

The Victorian locations that will benefit from 110 new or upgraded mobile base stations in Round 1 of a government programme were announced today.

You view all the locations on National Map by clicking "Communications" on the left hand menu and selecting "Mobile Black Spot Programme - Funded Base Stations". (see attached images)

From the Australian Government Department of Communications website:

The Australian Government committed $100 million through Round 1 of the Mobile Black Spot Programme to invest in telecommunications infrastructure to address mobile black spots in outer metropolitan, regional and remote Australia.

Round 1 of the Programme will deliver 499 new and upgraded mobile base stations across regional and remote Australia – 429 Telstra base stations and 70 Vodafone base stations. The locations to benefit under Round 1 of the Programme were announced on 25 June 2015.

The 499 mobile base stations will provide new and upgraded handheld coverage to 68,600 square kilometres of regional Australia. In addition, over 150,000 square kilometres of regional Australia will receive new external antenna coverage and over 5,700 kilometres of major transport routes will receive either new external antenna or handheld coverage.

The total to be invested in new and upgraded base stations under Round 1 of the Programme is $385 million.

Five state governments – NSW, Vic, Qld, WA and Tas – have agreed to partner with the Australian Government to co-fund base stations in their jurisdictions. A number of local governments, businesses and community organisations have also agreed to co-funding arrangements with the successful applicants.

In addition to the Commonwealth and state government funding commitments, the Programme has leveraged significant private sector investment – Telstra will spend $165 million and Vodafone $20 million. The first base stations funded under the Programme will be rolled out before the end of 2015. The rollout will continue for a three year period. The rollout sequence will be determined by Telstra and Vodafone based on various factors, including obtaining local government planning approvals for new base stations.

A map of locations which will receive new or upgraded coverage under Round 1 of the Programme can be viewed on the National Map (click "Communications" on the left hand menu and select "Mobile Black Spot Programme - Funded Base Stations") or downloaded as an Excel file.

In addition, as part of Telstra’s proposal, it will deploy up to 200 4G small cell sites in towns around Australia where suitable infrastructure is available, with the locations to be mutually agreed between Telstra and the Government. The Government expects to finalise the locations for the 4G small cells with Telstra during the second half of 2015.

Alphabetical list of Victorian locations:

Ancona, Apollo Bay, Arawata, Archerton, Austins Hill, Barongarook, Barwon Downs, Benambra, Bethanga, Blackwood, Bonang, Boolite, Broadford, Buchan South, Buffalo River, Bullarto, Butchers Ridge, Cape Bridgewater, Cape Otway, Carlisle River, Carrajung Lower, Chetwynd A, Chetwynd B, Chinkapook, Connewirricoo, Cudgewa, Culla, Dartmouth, Denver, Dereel, Devils River, Digby, Dixons Creek, Dumbalk, Dumbbalk North, East Warburton, Edi Upper, Eganstown, Eldorado, Enochs Point, Gellibrand, Glen Valley, Glenlyon, Gormandale, Goughs Bay, Granya, Guildford, Harrow, Havilah, Hazeldene, Highlands, Howqua Inlet, Kadnook, Kalkee, Kanumbra, Kawarren, Kewell, Killingworth, Kinglake West, Kongwak, Korong, Vale, Lalbert, Landsborough, Landsborough West, Leonards Hill, Lyonville, Marnoo A, Marnoo B, Minyip, Mirboo, Mirranatwa, Molyullah, Moonambel, Mount Eccles, Moyhu, Muntham, Myrrhee, Nareen, Netherby, Outtrim, Patchewollock, Pigeon Ponds, Pipers Creek, Portland West, Saint Andrews, Saint Leonards, Sandy Point, Sarsfield, Sawmill Settlement, Sheep Hills, Steiglitz, Strzelecki, Tangambalanga, Tatong, Taylor Bay, Tolmie, Tongio, Trida, Upper Ryans Creek, Victoria Valley, Wallaloo East, Wallup, Waratah Bay, Werrimull, Wombelano, Woods Point, Yea, Yeodene, York Plains, Youngvale.

Last Updated: 25 June 2015