News & Media

New Directors for Emergency Management Victoria

By: Mick Bourke

  11.00 AM 11 August, 2014

Views: 4269

On behalf of Chief Officer Euan Ferguson and the Executive Leadership Team I would like to share with you the names of the newly appointed Emergency Management Victoria (EMV) Directors.

These appointments complete Emergency Management Victoria's Executive Team and were announced on Friday by EMV Chief Executive Neil Robertson and Emergency Management Commissioner Craig Lapsley.

Director Relief and Recovery - Adam Dent

Adam joins EMV from Red Cross where since 2007 he was the State Manager Emergency Services, having leadership of Red Cross Operations during Black Saturday and the 2010/11 Victorian floods.

Deputy Commissioner/Director Risk and Resilience - Joe Buffone

Joe Buffone will also be bringing his extensive experience as CFA's Deputy Chief Officer Readiness and Response, as well as with the former Office of the Emergency Services Commissioner as Deputy Commissioner Planning and Policy.

Director Corporate Support Services - Catherine Greaves

Catherine is currently Director Corporate Services of Latrobe Regional Hospital and spent many years with Wellington Shire Council, including as Manager Organisation Development.

Director Legal Policy and Executive Services - Sarah Harvey

Sarah moves to EMV from the Department of Justice, Emergency Management Policy and Legislation where she was heavily involved in the development of the Victorian Government's White Paper into Emergency Management and the legislation supporting the new arrangements.


These four Director appointments join the two most recent appointments of Deborrah Jepsen, Director Strategy and Investment, and Tony Murphy, Deputy Commissioner/Director for Capability and Response.

We would particularly like to acknowledge Deputy Chief Officer Joe Buffone's appointment to the position of Deputy Commissioner / Director Risk and Resilience. We look forward to continuing our close working relationship with not only Joe but the whole EMV leadership team.

Last Updated: 10 December 2015