News & Media

Oxley Flats' multiple celebration

By: Craig Hearson

Category: Honours & Awards, People

  2.55 PM 27 June, 2013

Location: District 23 News

Views: 3220

The Oxley Flats Fire Brigade celebrated its 60th birthday in style with the opening of a renovated fire station and the handover of a new medium tanker.

Oxley Flats brigade was formed in 1953 -  a direct result of the local community concern after the tragic Tarrawingee fire that was just the other side of the Ovens River some 10 years earlier.

Last Sunday, two of the founding brigade members Murray Evans and Jack Goodwin had the privilege of cutting a cake to celebrate the occasion. Both, as well as Evadne Evans, were honoured with brigade life memberships for their commitment to the community.

In recognition of the extraordinary service of Murray and Evadne Evans, CFA District 23 Operations Manager Stewart Kreltszheim also presented CFA life memberships to the husband and wife team.

Stewart commented that this was only the second time in his 20 year career that he had had the honour of presenting such awards. He talked of the critical work that the pair had undertaken as volunteers managing 24 hour radio communications for the Wangaratta group prior to the introduction of the current centralised system.

 The renovated station was officially opened by Member for Murray Valley Tim McCurdy, with CFA Board Member Ross Coyle, Federal Member for Indi Sophie Mirabella and Rural City of Wangaratta Mayor Rozi Parisotto also in attendance. 

The brigade also accepted delivery of a new $380 000 4WD crew cab medium tanker to replace the current brigade 1988 model 2WD tanker.

CFA service awards were presented to:

Jack Goodwin (60 years)

Murray Evans (60 years)

Keith Rooks (55 years)

Bruce Kneebone (45 years)

John McIntyre (45 years)

Mark Evans (40 years)

Terry McDonald (40 years)

Evadne Evans (35 years)

Greg Johnson (35 years)

Ivan McNamara (35 years)

Errol Evans (30 years)

Garry Craig (20 years)

Joy Johnson (15 years)

Scott Evans (15 years)

John Golin (15 years)

Stan Goldsworthy (15 years)

Nigel Stephens (10 years)

Bernie Evans (10 years)

Andrew McIntyre (10 years)

Leighton Evans (5 years)

Fiona Evans (5 years)

Last Updated: 28 June 2013