News & Media

Toolangi station opening

By: Sonia Maclean

Category: Vehicles / Equipment / Buildings

  4.22 PM 19 November, 2013

Location: District 12 News

Views: 2914

More than 200 people came along last Saturday to see the unveiling of a new fire station at Toolangi, with Captain Ben Rose commenting that "after such a long time, finally we can house all of our vehicles in one location.”

The new facility, offficially opened by the Minister for Police and Emergency Services Hon. Kim Wells (MP) can accommodate three appliances and has ample room to conduct training activities. It will improve both the safety and service of the Toolangi fire brigade. Story by Peter Sharman.

Toolangi Brigade hosted a the ceremony which culminated with the Junior Brigade members, led by Eric Watts, providing a practical demonstration of their proficiency to the CFA Chief Officer Euan Ferguson and guests.

Later in the evening, the Chief Officer stayed on for the brigade’s award presentations and dinner. 

The service awards were presented to Dawn Hartog (5 years), Robert Van De Ven (10 years), David Ford (15 years), Eric Watts (15 years), David Overton (15 years), Mick Van De Ven (20 years), Jacobus Walhout (30 years), and Bruce McClements (50 years - Honourary Life Member). Geoff Kent and Chris Ryan from the Cambridge Fire Brigade (Tasmanian Fire Service), were also presented with a Campaign Fires badge for their contribution during the Black Saturday fires.

After the official presentations the audience were treated with an excellent presentation by a pilot for the Erikson Skycrane Company, Mark Jones, who lives in Melbourne.

Last Updated: 19 November 2013