Asset Publisher

Recognise the very best of CFA

  | Shaunnagh O'Loughlin Views: 2256

CFA has launched the 2020 Spirit of CFA Awards. 

The awards, first held in 2018, recognise the exceptional achievements of our staff and volunteers across nine award categories that align to CFA’s values. 

Recognise the very best of CFA

The awards were first held in 2018.

CFA people and the Victorian community will be able to nominate CFA staff and volunteers when applications open on 29 September. Nominations close on 3 January 2020, and winners will be announced at the Spirit of CFA Awards ceremony on 31 May 2020.

CEO/Chief Officer Steve Warrington said the people could nominate individuals as well as teams across nine categories.

“The Spirit of CFA Awards highlight the valuable and diverse contribution our people make in their communities and across the emergency services sector,” Steve said.

“They acknowledge and publicly recognise the excellence of our people and their service and demonstrate that CFA values a diverse range of contributions.

“They also provide us with the opportunity to reflect on that contribution, and recognise those people who are making a significant difference to the Victorian communities and beyond.”

Steve Lewis, a longstanding volunteer in District 5, won the Excellence in Sustainability Planning Spirit of CFA Award in 2018.

To be eligible for the awards, nominations need to reflect CFA’s values and have made a significant contribution to CFA and the community within the past two years.

People can nominate across nine categories:

  • Excellence in Community Engagement Award
  • Youth Award (individual award only)
  • Seniors Award (individual award only)
  • Living the Values Award (individual award only)
  • Inclusion and Fairness Champion Award
  • Excellence in Partnership Development Award
  • Excellence in Interagency or Group Cooperation Award
  • Excellence in Capability Planning Award
  • Excellence in Innovation Award

Captain of Malmsbury Fire Brigade Tony Stephens received the Excellence in Inclusion and Fairness Award in 2018.

CFA's Fire Investigator Nicole Harvey received the Excellence in Interagency or Group Co-operation at the 2018 awards.

Nominations open 29 September and close 3 January 2020. Learn more about the award criteria and the process for nomination by visiting the Spirit of Awards website.

The awards are supported by the Victorian Government Valuing Volunteers Program.

The 2018 Spirit of CFA Award winners