CFA’s own receive Australia Day top honour

CFA volunteers and staff have featured in the fire and emergency services sector of the 2019 Australia Day Honours list.


AFSM medal

Four CFA members will receive the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) today in recognition of their remarkable service to the Victorian community.

The following four current and former CFA staff and volunteers have been honoured:

  • Gwynne Brennan - CFA volunteer and staff member who for close to 20 years has reformed the approach to community safety and bushfire preparedness.
  • John Callahan - CFA volunteer and mentor with over 55 years of firefighting experience who as far back as 1971 was leading the charge to make the organisation fair and inclusive.
  • Nicole Harvey - CFA fire investigator who for 20 years has dedicated her working life to finding ways to better understand the cause and prevention of fires.
  • Colin Newell - CFA Warracknabeal Group Officer who for over 50 years has innovated the way his group works with the community.

CFA Chief Officer Steve Warrington said an AFSM was a prestigious award and each of this year’s recipients had provided commitment and excellence to the fire services.

“Receiving an AFSM is the highest honour an individual in the fire and emergency services can receive, only a few are handed out every year, they are awarded to individuals who have made  remarkable contributions to CFA and their communities,” Mr Warrington said

“It is fitting that these individuals are recognised in the Australia Day honours list, a time when we come together to recognise all Australians who have gone above and beyond.

 “The work you undertake and the time you devote helps ensure that our organisation can uphold its mission of protecting lives and properties in your communities and across the rest of the state.

“This is a moment to be proud of, well done.”

The AFSM is awarded for distinguished service to fire services across Australia. Only one award is presented to an individual, and recipients are entitled to use the post-nominal letters AFSM

The AFSM is awarded by the Governor of Victoria at a dedicated ceremony at Government House in Melbourne.

Colin Newell

Gwynne Brennan

Gwynne Brennan

John Callahan

Nicole Harvey

Author: CFA News & Media