Konongwootong brigade's 75th birthday

Konongwootong Fire Brigade celebrated its 75th birthday with a ceremony and lunch at Konongwootong Hall on Sunday 27 October.


Active service medals were presented to members of the Konongwootong Fire Brigade.

Brigade members cut a cake and used the occasion to acknowledge the volunteer service of 16 brigade members, award a National Emergency Medal and unveil an honour board.

Ray Clay was recognised with a National Emergency Medal for his volunteer service during the 2009 fires. This is an operational service medal which recognises significant or sustained service to others in a nationally significant emergency.

In presenting the medal, District 5 Operations Manager Richard Bourke commended Ray for his turnout to two local fires and involvement in three strike teams as part of the Black Saturday fires.

The service awards for continuous active service were presented by District 5 Commander Andrew Barry and BASO Wes Hill. Robert Plush and Roland Hope were acknowledged for 45 years of service, Kenneth Water 65 years of service and Raymond Sutherland 70 years of service.

Certificates were presented to three life members - Alan Picken, Kenneth Waters and Raymond Sutherland - by Mark Bunge, Group Officer for the Nareen Group. The three then unveiled the new honour board which recognises the Konongwootong Fire Brigade captains, secretaries and life members for the past 75 years.

Konongwootong brigade was formed at a meeting on 22 January 1944 and the first tanker was an army truck purchased for £125 with a power pump bought for £45. The ladies auxiliary was created in October of the same year.

Konongwootong Fire Brigade members and years of active service:

Ray Sutherland: 70 Years Active Service Award

Kenneth Waters: 65 Years Active Service Award

Roland Hope:  50 Years Active Service Award

Robert Plush: 50 Years Active Service Award

Alan Picken: 45 Years Active Service Award

Alistair Sutherland: 40 Years Active Service Award

Steven Cooper: 40 Years Active Service Award

Mark Bunge: 35 Years Active Service Award

Warwick Brown: 30 Years Active Service Award

Lois Cooper: 25 Years Active Service Award

Matthew Fitzgerald: 20 Years Active Service Award

Rohan Gunning: 20 Years Active Service Award

Leigh Peterson: 20 Years Active Service Award

Jessica Sutherland: 20 Years Active Service Award

Hazel Sutherland: 20 Years Active Service Award

Brigade members recognised with a certificate for life membership:

Alan Picken

Kenneth Waters

Raymond Sutherland 

Life members Raymond Sutherland, Alan Picken and Kenneth Waters (front) are pictured after unveiling the honour board. Nareen Group Officer Mark Bunge and Nareen Deputy Group Officer Rohan Gunning (rear) hold the honour board.

Ray Clay with Operations Manager ​Richard Bourke following the presentation of his National Emergency Medal.

Author: Lynn Gunning