The new faces of CFA training

They are the who, what, when, where and why of training: nine new training coordinators have been deployed across the state to improve volunteer access to training at a local level. 


(Stock training photo)

Previously, CFA had 12 Coordinators Learning and Development who coordinated CFA’s volunteer training across 21 districts.

The addition of nine new coordinators means that each district will now have its own dedicated resource to manage training needs. Each coordinator will work closely with the District teams, brigades and groups to develop appropriate training plans and courses.

The new coordinators have taken up positions in Casterton, Colac, Warragul, Bairnsdale, Morwell, Seymour, Ararat, Kerang, and Wodonga.

DCO Training Gregg Paterson said having a dedicated coordinator in each district provides better customer service for brigades seeking training for their members.

“With coordinators looking after multiple districts we weren’t able to effectively plan for training needs at a local level,” Gregg said.

“Nine new positions means there’s a face of training in every district giving brigades a vital point of contact to ensure individual training needs are met.”   

Brigades can contact their District Coordinator Learning and Development through their local District office. Scroll below video to find out more about your local coordinator.

The new positions were funded through the State Government’s $60 million investment in the Victorian Fire Services as part of the 2017 Fire Services Statement.  

Meet your district coordinators:

Leanne Munro - District 4 Casterton

Paul Hunton - District 6 Colac

Sarah Hollingsworth - District 9 Warragul

Kylie Paterson - District 11 Bairnsdale

Deb Cerda - District 12 Seymour

Amanda Kilpatrick - District 16 Ararat

Jo Murray - District 20 Kerang

Michael Colegrove - District 24 Wodonga

Suzanne Thompson - District 27 Morwell

Rebecca Pethybridge - District 2 Bendigo

Tania Sigley (Acting) - District 5 Hamilton

Amanda Abrahmsen - District 7 Geelong

Angie Forbes / Tiffany Jencke - District 8 Dandenong

Claire Williams - District 10 Sale

Trudi Pitches - District 13 Lilydale

Judy Paris (Acting) - District 14 Melton

Samantha Plater - District 15 Wendouree

Anne Radford (Acting) - District 17 Horsham

Grace Gillingham (Acting) - District 18 Swan Hill

Ericka Kneebone - District 22 Shepparton

Hayley Boyd - District 23 Wangaratta

Author: Shaunnagh O'Loughlin