Winslow and Yarpturk Awards Night

Members of Winslow and Yarpturk Fire Brigade gathered last Friday evening at Warrnambool’s Flying Horse Bar and Brewery to celebrate the remarkable efforts of its members.


All awards recipients on the night

Operations Manager Richard Bourke presented dozens of awards ranging from five years to 50 years of service.

“The awards presented to members from Winslow and Yarpturk brigade equated to a total of 360 years of service, which is an outstanding contribution for a small and rural community,” said Mr Bourke.

He acknowledged not only the dedication of the brigade members but the support of their family members.

“I congratulate all the brigade members presented with a service award, but want to extend my appreciation to those that stay home and support our volunteers.”

As part of the official event, CFA Assistant Chief Officer Rohan Luke presented Firefighter Mathew Deans with the National Emergency Medal. This award recognises significant or sustained service to others in a nationally significant emergency, in this instance, the Victorian Bushfires of 2009.

“It was an honour to receive the National Emergency Medal for the work that I undertook during the Black Saturday Fires,” said Mr Deans.

“It is important to remember that when responding to emergencies, we are dealing with real people, with real feelings, and the things we say and do, stay with them throughout their period of recovery and beyond.”

Winslow and Yarpturk Captain Colin McKane also recognised the ongoing, diligent service of Firefighter Owen O’Keefe by presenting him with Brigade Life Membership.

ACO Rohan Luke shakes the hand of National Emergency Medal (NEM) recipient Mathew Deans

ACO Rohan Luke, NEM recipient Mathew Deans and D5 OM Richard Bourke

Brigade Life Membership Owen O’Keefe

Author: Melissa Mueglitz