CFA launches Spirit of CFA Awards

Member News image


Members of the public are being called on to step forward and nominate CFA members and/or brigades for the 2022 Spirit of CFA Awards.


The awards will be across nine categories, and recognise outstanding achievements and significant contributions made by CFA members and/or teams to CFA and to their communities.

CFA Chief Officer Jason Heffernan said the Spirit of CFA Awards highlight the very best of CFA people.

“Our members are the heart and soul of this organisation and are leaders within their own communities,” he said.

“The quality of service and professionalism that our people provide, and the diversity of skill sets is extraordinary.

“These awards are to recognise those who have gone above and beyond and displayed excellence in the respective categories.”

CFA individuals and/or teams can be nominated for one or more of the following awards:

Individual Awards

  • Living the Values (Gold Award)
  • Youth Award
  • Seniors Award

Team and Individual Awards

  • Inclusion & Fairness Champion Award
  • Excellence in Community Engagement Award
  • Excellence in Interagency or Group Co-Operation Award
  • Excellence in Partnership Development Award
  • Excellence in Capability Planning Award
  • Excellence in Innovation Award

Hamilton Fire Brigade volunteer Susan Little was presented with the ‘Living the Values’ award in 2018 and said while it was an incredible feeling to win the award, even receiving a nomination was a humbling experience.

“I really encourage people to nominate their local members or brigades,” Susan said.

“It was such a confidence booster for me, and it really showed me that people believe in me.”

While nominations are open to the public, it was fellow brigade member Ashleigh Carne who nominated Susan in 2018.

“The nomination process was reasonably easy because Susan has been a role model of mine for many years, so I simply had to write down what an incredible person she is,” Ashleigh said.

“Even if the person you nominate is not successful in getting the award, they will know that they are appreciated just by being nominated.”

To be eligible for the awards, nominees must

  • be a CFA Member,
  • demonstrate the CFA Values of safety, teamwork, adaptability, integrity, and respect,
  • and demonstrate an outstanding achievement and/or contribution to CFA and the community between 1 January 2019 – 31 March 2021.

Nominations for the 2022 Spirit of CFA Awards will remain open until 30 November 2021.

The winners will be announced in May 2022, and will be held simultaneously with the presentation of the 2020 Spirit of CFA Awards which was postponed due to COVID-19.

Nominations can be made by visiting

Questions and enquiries can be directed to


Submitted by CFA Media