Firefighter nominated for Volunteer Excellence Award

Yarrambat CFA firefighter Cameron Sibeijn has been nominated for the Volunteer Excellence Award at the 2019 Young Achiever Awards. The Award aims to acknowledge young volunteers who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution and have positively impacted the lives of others and their community.


Cameron Sibeijn

Nominated by his brigade, Cameron has consistently demonstrated the highest standard of service to the CFA and his community. Captain of District 14 HQ Brigade Mark Gravell said Cameron provided an example for all aspiring CFA firefighters.

“Cameron has wanted to be a firefighter since he was six years old; at age 16 he became one and now at 26, he is the Captain of his brigade at Yarrambat.

“Not only has he excelled through his brigade’s leadership, he has worked tirelessly to support CFA and his community through other means.

“One of the greatest changes Cameron has led in his brigade has been challenging the culture of Yarrambat. By demonstrating the best of CFA from a young age, he has been able to reshape older brigade members’ and district personnel’s perceptions of the value young people bring.”

Cameron’s achievements include receiving a scholarship from Volunteer Fire Brigades Victoria to complete the VFBV Volunteer Leadership, helping found District 14 Headquarters Brigade, becoming District 14 President of the VFBV Multi-Agency Youth, a board member of the Volunteer Leadership Network, as well as receiving a Ten Year Service Medal from CFA. He is also a recipient of the National Emergency Medal.

CFA Chief Officer Steve Warrington said Cameron had excelled at CFA and in his community.

“Often in society we may overlook an individual because of their youth but the work and standard that Cameron has set in his district and brigade will ensure this won’t happen again.

“Cameron is exactly the type of person we want in CFA; he cares and puts his community first. Congratulations on your nomination - it’s well deserved,” he said.

Cameron joins two other Victorians nominated for the prestigious award.

Author: CFA News and Media