Firefighters from the south-west awarded National Emergency Medals

Member News image Photo: National Emergency Medal recipients from Leopold Fire Brigade, (left to right) James Eastwood, Tracey Fabian, David Freeman, Mark Hunter, Pauline Hunter and Robert Ladgrove.


One hundred and seventy-six local volunteer firefighters and staff members from CFA’s District 7 have been honoured with National Emergency Medals for their efforts in the 2019-20 Australian bushfire crisis.


The National Emergency Medal is part of Australia’s Honours and Awards system and recognises significant or sustained service to others in a nationally significant Australian emergency.

At ceremonies across the weekend, firefighters from District 7 became the latest of more than 5,500 CFA members to receive the honour for the 2019-20 fires.

It was attended by Board representatives, CFA CEO Natalie MacDonald, CFA Chief Officer Jason Heffernan and South West Region Deputy Chief Officer Rohan Luke.

CFA Board Member Peter Shaw and CFA Board Chair Greg Wilson presented the medals and said they were an important recognition of the valiant efforts of CFA members.

“The National Emergency Medal is a formal recognition that Australia appreciates the efforts and contributions of CFA members during the 2019-20 bushfire crisis,” they said.

“It is a great honour to receive this medal and we hope it goes a small way to thanking our members for their service.”

CFA District 7 Assistant Chief Fire Officer Brendan Lawson spoke of his pride for the CFA members’ efforts.

“Over the weekend District 7 was provided the opportunity to acknowledge our members sacrifices and supporting response to the 2019-20 bushfires” he said.

“I was very humbled and privileged to witness our people being awarded the National Emergency Medal for their effort”.

Anakie Captain and medal recipient, Adam Jones, said it was an honour to be formally recognised.

“It is great that CFA recognises the good work that brigades do,” Adam said.

“Volunteers don’t do it for this reason, but it is nice to be formally acknowledged.

“My thoughts are still with the areas that were hugely affected during this time”.

Steve Gibbs 1st Lt Ocean Grove Brigade added “today’s presentation of the National Emergency Medals was such a special occasion for me”.

“The presentation ticked all of the boxes; it was respectful, memorable and emotional.

“A day that I will remember for a long time to come. Well done to all involved in this special event, you did CFA proud.”


  • Member News imagePhoto: National Emergency Medal recipient Jo Seymour (middle), with (left to right) DCO Rohan Luke, CFA CEO Natalie MacDonald, CFA Chief Officer Jason Heffernan, CFA Board Member Peter Shaw
  • Member News image Photo: National Emergency Medal recipient Leon Trevey (middle), with (left to right) DCO Rohan Luke, CFA CEO Natalie MacDonald, CFA Chief Officer Jason Heffernan and CFA Board Member Peter Shaw
Submitted by CFA Media