Local firefighters awarded National Emergency Medals

Member News image CFA Board Member Dawn Hartog, Myrtleford Captain Gloria Pizzolitto, CFA Chief Officer Jason Heffernan


More than 700 local volunteer firefighters and CFA staff members are being honoured with National Emergency Medals for their efforts in the 2019-2020 Australian bushfire crisis.


The National Emergency Medal is part of Australia’s Honours and Awards system and recognises significant or sustained service to others in a nationally significant Australian emergency.

At ceremonies in Wodonga on 29 July, and Bright on 31 July, firefighters from across the North East became the latest of more than 5,500 CFA members to receive the honour for the 2019-2020 fires.

CFA Board member Dawn Hartog presented the medals and said they were an important recognition of the valiant efforts of CFA members.

“The National Emergency Medal is a formal recognition that Australia appreciates the efforts and contributions of CFA members during the 2019-2020 bushfire crisis,” she said.

“It is a great honour to receive this medal and I hope it goes a small way to thanking our members for their service.

CFA Chief Officer Jason Heffernan spoke of his pride for the CFA members’ efforts.

“The 2019/2020 fires devastated East Gippsland and the North East of Victoria,” he said.

“But from that crisis arose the most remarkable human spirit of generosity and ‘lending a hand’.

“Our medal recipients have exemplified that spirit, and I am incredibly proud of each and every one of them.

“Whether they joined a firefighting strike team, worked in an Incident Control Centre or provided other assistance to affected communities – every contribution was valuable made a real difference.

Myrtleford Fire Brigade Captain and medal recipient, Gloria Pizzolitto, said it was an honour to be formally recognised.

“Volunteer fireys don’t do the job for praise or awards – we do it to help out fellow Australians in need. That said, it is nice for the hard work of our volunteers to be formally recognised in this way,” she said.


  • Member News imageMyrtleford Fire Brigade members with CFA Board members and Chief Officer Jason Heffernan
  • Member News image Rutherglen Fire Brigade members with CFA Board members
Submitted by CFA Media