Long service recognised at Ruffy brigade

CFA’s Strathbogie District Catchment Officer Rohan Taylor visited Ruffy Fire Brigade on Sunday 26 August to salute 16 members with more than 600 years of service to the brigade and local community.


CFA service awards were presented to Craig Martin, Phil Brown, Justus Hagen, David Austin, Ray Paget, Graeme Johnston and Adrian Martin for between 25 and 40 years of service.

Nine CFA Life Member Service Awards were also presented to Ruffy brigade members who have logged 45+ years. The longest-serving was Stan Artridge with 65 years of service.

An enthusiastic crowd was entertained by some historic anecdotes from Stan, his brother-in-law Henry Noye and their neighbour Bill Eddy. 

Rohan Taylor, Steph Ryan (State Member for Euroa) and Strathbogie Shire Councillor Alistair Thompson shared a common theme as they spoke of the sense of altruism and deep commitment to the community that Ruffy brigade members have displayed through the years. 

Ruffy Captain George Noye and Euroa Group Officer John Furlanetto updated the guests about the upcoming fire season before a sumptuous lunch was served at Ruffy Hall.

Author: CFA News & Media