Mornington Fire Brigade 100-year dinner

Mornington Fire Brigade held its annual dinner last Saturday night at Mornington Racecourse, and celebrated its 100-year anniversary milestone which occurred on 1 January 2017.


Over 200 past and present members including several life members of the brigade attended.

Several dignitaries also attended to acknowledge the brigade 100 year milestone, including Emergency Management Victoria Commissioner Craig Lapsley, Volunteer Fire Brigades Victoria CEO Andrew Ford, and MLA David Morris.

Mornington Officer in Charge Troy Thornton thanked and presented framed certificates of appreciation to the Brigade Centenary Steering Committee for their hard work planning and delivering all of the initiatives that have been rolled out over the past 12 months to celebrate the brigade 100 years (see photo attached).

CFA Assistant Chief Officer Trevor Owen presented to Mornington Officer in Charge Troy Thornton a plaque from CFA in recognition of the brigade 100 years service (see photo attached), and he also presented the following service awards to brigade members:

CFA 5 year certificate - Callum Read, Will Gordon, James Carey

CFA 10 year medal - Ross Williams, Keith Greenwood, Andrew Martin

CFA 15 year medal - Robyn Young

CFA 15 year medal - Brenden Lewis

CFA 30 year medal & HLM award - Peter Merrick

CFA 50 year medal - Michael Perrott

CFA 60 year medal & CFA Outstanding Service Award - Kingsley Read

Commissioner Lapsley addressed the dinner guests, spoke glowingly of the brigades proud history, congratulated and thanked the brigade members for their service to the community, and he also presented National Medals to the following brigade members:

Leading Firefighter Simon Lehmann

Leading Firefighter John Fryer

Peter Merrick

Mark Martin

Other awards presented by Mornington OIC on the night included:

Rookie and Firefighter of the Year - Travis Dixon

Firefighter of the Year - Tim Bush

Staff Encouragement Award - Marc Church

Attached photos:

1.  Mornington Fire Brigade OIC Troy Thornton  receiving CFA plaque from ACO Trevor Owen

2.  Mornington 100 year anniversary steering committe1 - From left OIC Troy Thornton, Ex-Captain Michael Taylor, VFF Rachel Young, Lt Marc Church, VFF Jo Brownlee, Treasurer Deb Schubert, Chairman Keith Greenwood, HLM Col Fisher OAM, SO Gary Bryant

Author: Troy Thornton