Nominations open for 2021 Fire Services Medal

Recognise an outstanding CFA person for their remarkable service to the Victorian community.

Nominations are open for the 2021 Australia Day Honours including the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) until 1 May 2020.


Each year CFA coordinates nominations for the AFSM to ensure the best possible opportunity for our people to receive the award.

Introduced in 1988, the medal is awarded twice a year on Australia Day and the Queen's Birthday in recognition of distinguished service by a member of an Australian fire service.

CFA Board Member Peter Shaw and Barongarook West Fire Brigade volunteer George O'Dwyer are our most recent AFSM recipients, honoured on Australia Day 2020.

Previous recipients also include Nicole Harvey, Allan Cracknell, Mark Gilmore, John Willian Atkins and Gwynne Brennan.

By participating in Australian Honours we recognise the exceptional contribution our people make in their communities, in Victoria, across Australia, and even internationally.

Anyone can put forward a nomination for someone they know who deserves to be honoured.

To nominate, visit and download the relevant nomination forms and supporting documentation.  

If you would like to discuss your nomination idea or for any other award enquiries please contact Belinda Gillespie at

Author: CFA News