Nominations open for 2020 AFSM

Nominations are now open for the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) as part of the 2020 Australia Day Honours.


CFA stock image. Photo by Keith Pakenham AFSM

Each year CFA coordinates the AFSM award nominations on behalf of volunteers and staff.

Any CFA person can put forward a nomination for someone they know who deserves to be honoured.

Introduced in 1988, the medal is awarded twice a year in recognition of distinguished service by a member of an Australian fire service.

The prestigious award honours the exceptional contribution members of the fire service make to protecting lives and property; those who may have gone above and beyond their duties or achieved something remarkable in difficult or unusual circumstances.

Previous CFA recipients include Nicole Harvey, Allan Cracknell, Mark Gilmore, John William Atkins and Gwynne Brennan.  

Nominations close 1 May 2019. All nominations are strictly confidential

View the nomination form and supporting materials

To discuss your nomination email

The Australian Fire Services Medal

Author: CFA News