Recognise the spirit of our people

Nominations are now open for CFA’s 2020 Spirit of CFA Awards.


Fiona Macken from Diamond Creek Fire Brigade won a Spirit of CFA Award in 2018 for Excellence in Community Engagement

CFA people and the Victorian community can nominate CFA staff and volunteers for the prestigious awards across nine categories.

Supported by the Victorian Government Valuing Volunteers Program, the awards were launched in 2018 to recognise the outstanding dedication and extraordinary lengths CFA people go to in helping one another, their local communities and the State of Victoria.   

To be eligible for the awards, nominees need to reflect CFA’s values and have made a significant contribution to CFA and the community within the past two years. View 2018 Spirit of CFA Award winners

CEO/Chief Officer Steve Warrington said it was important to recognise those who go above and beyond the call of duty for their communities every day.

“The Spirit of CFA Awards acknowledge the valuable and diverse contribution our people make in their communities and across the emergency services sector,” Steve said.

“At our first awards the quality of all the entrants was outstanding. I know there are many more CFA people whose work epitomises the values of our great organisation and whose efforts are integral to us achieving our mission.

“I encourage you to nominate them so that they receive the recognition they deserve.”

People can nominate across nine categories:

·         Excellence in Community Engagement Award

·         Youth Award (individual award only)

·         Seniors Award (individual award only)

·         Living the Values Award (individual award only)

·         Inclusion and Fairness Champion Award

·         Excellence in Partnership Development Award

·         Excellence in Interagency or Group Cooperation Award

·         Excellence in Capability Planning Award

·         Excellence in Innovation Award

Nominations close 11.59pm,  Monday 13 January 2020. Learn more about the award criteria and the process for nomination by visiting the Spirit of Awards website.

Winners for individual and team categories will be announced at a Spirit of CFA Awards ceremony in May 2020.

Omeo Group won the Excellence in Interagency or Group Co-operation Spirit of CFA Award in 2018

Author: Shaunnagh O'Loughlin