More than 750 years of service recognised at Wilby Fire Brigade

Member News image Award recipients


The CFA Life Membership Medal was awarded to four members on 24 July 2022.


Approximately 50 people attended the service awards at Wilby, 20 kilometres south of Yarrawonga, including The Hon Tim McCurdy MP, Member for Ovens Valley, and District 22 Acting Assistant Chief Fire Officer .Commander Charlie Cleary.

Receiving Life Memberships to recognise their contribution to Wilby brigade. were Geoff Campbell (63 years service), Robert Glover (63 years), Peter Hammon (59 years) and Ian Hargreaves (59 years).

Wilby Fire Brigade Captain Lyndon Hart said it was an important day in the brigade's history where members are recognised for their contributions to the brigade and the wider community.

Former President of Tungamah Lions Victor Smith presented the brigade with a donation cheque of $200 that will be put towards a new sign at the front of the fire station. The funds were gratefully received by the members.

Lyndon Hart gave a brief history of the brigade, which formed on 12 January 1948. It has had 10 captains and several families still have a direct connection to the official start of the brigade. Next year the brigade celebrate its 75th year.

Lyndon spoke about the recently completed shed extension and how this allows the brigade to carry out training in comfort.

The Hon Tim McCurdy MP presented commemorative pins to brigade members who had been part of strike teams that travelled to the Upper Murray and Tamboon during the 2019-20 bushfires.

A/ACFO Charlie Cleary presented members with their service awards. Charlie informed those present that a total of 760 years of service was being recognised.

“Like most organisations made up of volunteers, CFA is grateful and appreciative of the time and effort people give to serving the community as firefighters and supporters of their local brigades," Charlie said.

Award recipients were:

5 Year Certificate of Service

Nico Courtney

Anthony Hammon

Damian McCarthy

William Prescott

Suzy Schneider

Cameron Straunton-Latimer

10 Year Medal

Craig Blick

15 Year Medal

Lyndon Hart

Aaron Tuddenham

Keith White

Robbie White

20 Year Medal

Adam Inchbold

Peter Mansfield

25 Year Medal

Daniel Thackray

30 Year Medal

Angus Campbell

Jennifer Hammon

Marcus Hargreaves

Joe Nunn

James Regan

Doug White

Helen White

35 Year Medal

John Schneider

40 Year Medal

Richard Inchbold

Craig Prescott

Russell Whinray

55 Year Medal

Geoff Campbell

Ian Hargreaves

60 Year Medal

Robert Glover

Peter Hammon

Robert Glover and Peter Hammon congratulated Captain Lyndon Hart for his recent Queens Birthday OAM award and thanked him for his work and guidance with Wilby brigade and many others in the area.

The ceremony was followed by an impressive barbecue lunch prepared by the three newest (and youngest) Wilby members who are displaying great dedication to the brigade and learning essential firefighting skills which will equip them for the future.

Wilby brigade would like to thank everyone who has contributed to the brigade and welcomes new members.


Submitted by LYNDON HART