Spirit of CFA Awards presented to dedicated members

Member News image (left to right): Emerging Leadership award recipients Katy Millard and Kylie Davis with Acting Chief Officer, Gavin Thompson


The 2022 Spirit of CFA Awards ceremony honoured outstanding achievements of CFA members across the state. 


The awards were presented to CFA members across a variety of categories, ranging from community engagement to innovation, for individuals and teams alike.

The Spirit of CFA Awards recognise significant contributions made by CFA members to both the organisation and their local communities across the state.  

Chief Executive Officer Natalie MacDonald said she was pleased to be able to recognise so many people who have made contributions which make a real difference. There were many wonderful nominations, which demonstrate the value CFA members give back to the community. 

“Hearing about the accomplishments of our nominees was tremendously humbling. Meeting and recognising our winners confirms the significance of CFA in the community and the principles we stand for,” Ms MacDonald said. 

"While all award winners are deserving of praise, I'd like to give Emma Conway, who received the inaugural Excellence in Leadership Award, a special note. Emma demonstrates exemplary leadership and truly embodies the Spirit of CFA.” 

Acting Chief Officer Gavin Thompson congratulated the recipients and finalists on their significant contributions and outstanding achievements. 

“CFA is incredibly proud of its members, and it is great to see our members recognised for their contributions to both our organisation and local communities,” A/CO Thompson said. 

“Their dedication and effort are essential to assisting us in achieving our mission, which is to protect lives and property.” 

Images courtesy Blair Dellemijn - Uniform Photography

Living the Values Award
2020 Award
Winner: Peter Clarkson – (formerly) Diamond Creek Fire Brigade
Highly Commended: Jamie Mackenzie – Anglesea Fire Brigade
Commended: Wayne Munro – Grassdale Fire Brigade 

2022 Award 
Winner: Paul Spinks – Yellingbo Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Robert Waters – Montrose Fire Brigade 
Commended: Glenn Webster – Daylesford Fire Brigade

Chief Officer Emerging Leader Award
2022 Award
Joint Winner: Katy Millard – Port Campbell Fire Brigade
Joint Winner: Kylie Davis – Eaglehawk Fire Brigade

CEO Excellence in Leadership Award
2022 Award
Winner: Emma Conway – District 9 Headquarters

Excellence in Inclusion and Fairness Award
2020 Individual Award
Joint Winner: Peter Green – Hamilton Fire Brigade
Joint Winner: Terry Heafield – District 4 Headquarters
Highly Commended: the late Michael Daws - South Wangaratta Fire Brigade

2020 Team Award 
Winners: Travis Ledger, Clayton Henderson, Emma Cleal, Simon Williamson, Tim Loffler, Bernie Reynolds, Emma Williamson, Rick Robl – Killawarra Brigade Management Team 

2022 Individual Award 
Winner: Ramon Relph – Boronia Fire Brigade

Excellence in Innovation
2020 Team Award
Winners: Wayne Munro, Tim Phillips, Miriam Day, Trudy Deller, Steven Cooper – District 4 Remote Brigade After Action Review Project Team 

2022 Individual Award 
Winner: Robert Waters – Montrose Fire Brigade 

2022 Team Award 
Winners: Christina Hanger, Lauren Young, Chris Barber, Lisa MacKenzie – Community Engagement Transformation Team

Senior Award
2020 Individual Award 
Winner: Kevin Atteridge – Springhurst Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Ray Lynch – Warburton Fire Brigade 
Commended: Barry Planner – Bannockburn Fire Brigade 

2022 Individual Award 
Winner: Ralph Ross – Kallista-The Patch Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Alan Price – Pound Creek Fire Brigade 
Commended: Geoff Weedon – Mernda Fire Brigade

Youth Award
2020 Individual Award 
Joint Winner: Daniel Answer-Waddell – Orbost Fire Brigade 
Joint Winner: Caitlin Roberts – Wandong Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Liam Wright – Ballarat Fire Brigade

2022 Individual Award 
Winner: Liam Gallagher – Epping Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Luke Tyler-Maclean – Kallista-The Patch Fire Brigade 
Commended: Emma Avery – Mannerim Fire Brigade

Excellence in Partnership Development Award
2020 Individual Award 
Winner: Garry Nash – South Wangaratta Fire Brigade 

2022 Team Award 
Winners: Angela Cook, Kelly Stoner, Ellisa Bourne – Preparing Vulnerable People Project Team

2022 Individual Award 
Winner: Nigel Swinn – South East Region 

Excellence in Interagency or Group Co-operation
2020 Individual Award 
Winner: Mark Roberts – Cobden Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Peter Dymond – Heyfield Fire Brigade 
Commended: Lachlan Gales – Wangaratta North Fire Brigade 

Excellence in Community Engagement 
2020 Individual Award 
Joint Winner: Jo Hardy – Yellingbo Fire Brigade 
Joint Winner: Philip Rees – Baddaginnie Fire Brigade 
Highly Commended: Angela Cook – CFA Headquarters

2022 Team Award 
Winners: Amanda Maglaras, Danny Gordon, Peter Stephens – District 5 and 6 Community Education Team


  • Member News image(left to right): Acting Deputy Chief Officer Glenn Pröbstl, Commander Emma Conway and CEO Natalie MacDonald
  • Member News image (left to right): Peter Clarkson, Acting Chief Officer Gavin Thompson and Paul Spinks
  • Member News image Mia Farrah from Ballarat Centre of Music & the Arts
  • Member News image Acting Chief Officer, Gavin Thompson
  • Member News image CFA Colour Party
Submitted by CFA Media